You are here

FIFA reveal the coveted 23-Man shortlist for Ballon d’Or 2015

Spanish La Liga shows its dominance once again as 10 players along-with the runaway favorites Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo are named in FIFA’s final 23-man shortlist for 2014-15 Ballon d’Or nomination. Messi and Ronaldo have shared last 7 Ballon d’Or between them and Messi is expected to make it 5 wins for him in last 8 seasons.

Apart from La Liga, Premier League has 5 nominations with Aguero, Hazard, Yaya Toure, Alexis Sanchez and Kevin De Bruyne. Serie A has a lone representation with Paul Pogba while Ligue 1 sees Zlatan Ibrahimovic lead the way in FIFA’s 23-man Ballon d’Or shortlist for 2015. Meanwhile, Bundesliga sees six players nominated for the coveted prize.

Here is the complete FIFA’s 23-man Ballon d’Or shortlist for 2015:

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)

Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona), Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire/Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich).

The eventual list would come down to three in December which will then see the winner being announced at a ceremony in Zurich on Jan 11, 2016. The final votes  will be made by all the captains and head coaches of men’s national team. Add to that select media personnel will have the right to cast their vote and pick the Ballon d’Or winner for 2015.

Image credit: getty